Classic Xbox 360 titles receive mysterious updates ahead of Xbox 20th anniversary event – TrueAchievements

Following speculation that Microsoft could be reviving the Xbox backwards compatibility program, several Xbox 360 games were mysteriously updated ahead of today’s Xbox 20th anniversary event.

Dead Space 2

As per VGC and several reporters from across the internet, the following games have all received updates over the past couple of days:

  • Fallout 3
  • Fallout: New Vegas
  • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
  • Dead Space
  • Dead Space 2
  • Dead Space 3
  • Dragon Age: Origins
  • Dragon Age II
  • Fable Anniversary
  • Assassin’s Creed
  • Gears of War
  • Gears of War 2
  • Gears of War 3
  • Gears of War: Judgment
  • Kameo: Elements of Power
  • Sonic Generations
  • Sonic Unleashed
  • Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed

At the moment, it’s unknown why these games have been updated or what the updates include. Many are speculating this could be something to do with the backwards compatibility program making a comeback, though all of these games are already backwards compatible, while others think this could simply be some routine maintenance.

The Xbox 20th anniversary live stream takes place today (November 15th) at 10am PT/ 1pm ET/ 6pm GMT and will be a “special look back at 20 years of Xbox.” Microsoft’s Aaron Greenberg also noted on Twitter that the event is “not designed as a news beat or for any game reveals.”

What do you make of these mysterious updates? Give us your wildest theories in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *